Lerntippsammlung Headergrafik


Kangaroos - Referat


In Australia, there are 60 different species of kangaroos. The two largest species are the Red Kangaroo and the Grey Kangaroo. There are over 40 smaller species that are related to the kangaroo. Different members of this family can be small as a rat or as big as a man.

Kangaroo have large powerful legs, large feet designed for jumping,a long muscular tail for balance and a small head. Their heads look much like those of llamas. The comfortable hopping speed for kangaroos is about 20 to 25 km/h, but they can hop as fast as 70 km/h over short distances. Kangaroos can jump over ten meters. They live about 14 years. Kangaroos can grow to the high of 2.50 m and their weight can be 35 kg.
Kangaroos eat grass and seed and drink water.

A male kangaroo is called a boomer. A female kangaroo is called a flyer and a baby kangaroo is called a joey. The female kangaroo have her own carry bag.

A joey is born at a very early stage of development: after about 40 days.
At this stage, it is only developed enough to climb up to the pouch and attach to a teat. The joey will stay in the pouch for about nine month before starting to leave the pouch for small periods of time.
The mother feeds her baby until the age of 18 months.
A female kangaroo is usually pregnant the whole time, except on the day she gives birth. She is able to freeze the development of an embryo until the last Joey is able to leave the pouch.

Kangaroos are hunted by the humans, because the skin is used for leather shoes. The humans also want to eat the meat. When a kangaroo mother gets killed, her useless joey gets killed, too.

As a result of killing the adult kangaroos and there joey’s, it is just a matter of time until the kangaroos will die.
When all kangaroos be killed, a big part of Australia will die, too.

Dieses Referat wurde eingesandt vom User: Anika

Kommentare zum Referat Kangaroos: